Moodboards (+Mini Analysis)

Fighting Games

Fighting Game moodboard

Fighting games follow the same overall structure of being viewed from the side as it’s an angle that makes the most sense. Your playable character on one side and the enemy on the other, health bars in each corner, overall a neat structure.  This even applies to the selection screens.

I feel I could follow this same formula or attempt to make an over-the-shoulder view or even a third person where the character could move freely.

I’d also like to note the art styles vary a lot, some are pixilated (either by choice or limitation), 2d sprite or even 3d if possible. I feel I must limit myself to 2d or pixilated as to save time.

 

Art Style

Artstyle moodboard

With the decision of having a 2d game, I looked into that exact type of style.

You’ll find that you can do a lot with a 2d art style, you aren’t as limited compare to 3d. Some follow an aesthetic, some are more minimal and some can be more detailed. It all depends on your game’s themes.

So for me, it would make sense to have a rough or more bold style as my theme of being a fighting game and a game include dinosaurs would make the most sense.

 

Palaeontology

Archeology moodboard

I’ve include this as I feel I could gain inspiration for the UI’s theme or even another concept for the game. Palaeontology is the study of the fossilisation of plants and animals, which is how we discovered dinosaurs and how we continue to study them.

Dinosaur moodboard

I’m debating on whether to base my designs of dinosaurs on the old illustrations, I like how artists have reimagined these creatures from a long-gone environment. The problem I face is spreading misinformation on dinosaurs as of the recent years it has been a big debate if dinosaurs had feathers. I’ll look more deeply into the subject as this could great effect the designs and concepts later on

Leave a comment